Blocking Your Facebook Comments From Facebook Itself
A new tool on Facebook lets users prevent their comments and posts from being seen by unwanted viewers–including Facebook itself.
The tool, called uProtect.it, works like this: Users get the app and activate it on Facebook with a bookmark. Then they write a comment and choose which of their friends can see it. Instead of the comment being posted normally on Facebook, uProtect.it posts a message saying that the comment is encrypted and can be seen by clicking on a link. Only those friends who are allowed to see the message can decode it when the link is clicked; even Facebook doesn’t have access.
“Essentially you’re creating an encrypted atmosphere on Facebook, and Facebook can’t control it,” said Michael Fertik, the founder and chief executive of Reputation.com Inc., which makes the app.