Facebook Says It Will Now Push Timeline to All Users
As had been expected for a while (and as many people expected would happen quite a while ago), Facebook said today that it will soon migrate all its users to its new Timeline profile layout, which visually displays Facebook’s archive of content for each user.
Users get seven days’ warning before their Timelines go live, time enough to find a pretty and personal “cover photo” and change permissions for older content they may no longer wish to share.
This particular Facebook layout change seems to have been less catastrophic than others, in part because the Timeline rollout was delayed, staggered and included the seven-day preview periods. But complaints seem likely to spike once Timeline is no longer an upgrade option but a requirement for everybody.
Please see the disclosure about Facebook in my ethics statement.